Jump to content


Dublin Airport Authority

League Title victory for U15 Girls

League Title victory for U15 Girls

Posted May 6, 2015

Proud march of Under 15 Girls continues with League Title victory.

The Under 15 girls today crowned an unbelievable two years which has seen them win two league titles, one championship title and one Feile title as well as reaching a second championship final. In that period they’ve won 27 competitive games and lost one which is a fantastic achievement.

Today we secured the league title when we defeated Skerries Harps on a scoreline of 5-5 to 3-5 in absolutely atrocious conditions. This victory ensures that the girls have won the league with two games to spare and we hope that in two weeks time our record will read 29 wins out of 30 games.

Today’s victory is  a tribute to the girls who have put such a momentous effort into their game since this team was established 3 years ago. In 2013 we commenced in Division 5 and in each of the subsequent years we’ve been promoted and we will now be in Division 2 for 2016. Special credit must be given to the parents of the girls who have been unstinting in their support since we set out on this road.

Today summed up what the girls are about where despite the awful conditions and missing 6 players and not performing at our best we beat a good Skerries Harps team by turning around a 5 point deficit at halftime to win by six points.

Today’s scores were: Ciara Holland 1-2, Maria Kelly 1-1, Ellen Daly 1-0, Leah McElroy 1-0, Ruby  Smith 1-0, Tara Daly and Ella Griffin 0-1 each.

Team: Sophie Brennan, Amy Kavanagh, Hannah Collins, Niamh Browne, Megan O’Connor, Ruby Smith, Jessica Burke, Ciara Holland, Maria Kelly, Claire McGowan, Ella Griffin, Tara Daly, Rebecca Cooke, Leah McElroy, Ellen Daly. Subs Floernce Okodje for C McGowan(injured) and Leagha Ogilsby for R Cooke(sick).
Missing from our panel today due to injury and illness: Katie Flanagan, Orlaith Freaney, Rosie Doyle, Emma Tuthill, Niamh McLernon, Ella Greene and Caitlin Dempsey.

Management: Frank Lynch, Ciaran Griffin, Brendan Collins, Joan O’Connor and Gilda Smith

Recent News

View all News stories →